Pray for Laborers

(From my previous blog, Pray for Laborers)

Emblazoned across the top of this page is a couple of verses that don’t really make sense to me.  (Not on the mobile view.  Check Matthew 9:37-38) But I would have to say they provoke a lot of thought for me (and have for several years). Really they are summed up in a little phrase that runs through my mind often, “Pray for laborers.” Jesus personally said that the harvest was ready and there wasn’t enough laborers to bring it in. But His solution is what has baffled me! Pray! Pray to the Lord of the harvest to send laborers.

It seems obvious to me that we should endeavor to labor in the harvest. But that was not his first command. His first command was simple, “If you will pray to me, I will send laborers.” What is the solution for the lost of this world? Laborers. How will they come? Prayer.

With this in mind, consider Romans 10:14-15. “How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher? And how shall they preach, except they be sent?”

